Posted by: Diane | August 31, 2007

Baby Slings

My oldest daughter is starting a new job as a nanny for a 6-month-old. Apparently the little chap needs to be kept upright after eating, and she asked me to find my old baby sling to help with carrying him.

I have no idea where that old ring sling is, but I saw an ad in Mothering Magazine for a neat website that sells another type of sling called a pouch sling. This website also has links to free patterns for similar slings.

After exploring the patterns and the cost of the fabric necessary to make a sling, I decided to order a kit to make one from Sweet Things Baby Slings. If I bought the fabric myself, I’d spend more on just that than I would to buy the kit, which has the fabric, pattern and wearing instructions. Leah has a good variety of fabric combinations to choose from and her service was prompt. The fabric is even prewashed for you.

I’ll sew it for her when I go to visit so I can make sure it fits her. I hope she gets good use out of it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

