Posted by: Diane | July 26, 2008

It was hot, but it was worth it…

Our family went to a local watermelon festival today. In addition we had my daughter’s two best friends with us. There was a parade, karaoke, free watermelon, and booths with crafts, food, games and gifts.

One of the booths was rented by the city library and they were selling used books. My son and I dug through the boxes to see what we could find. Here is what I came out with:

  • The Superior Person’s Book of Words – this one is for my oldest daughter who likes to throw big words around. Lots of big words with humorous examples of when to use them;
  • Tips for the Lazy Gardener – hundreds of time and effort saving tips for gardening;
  • The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had – I’m going to read this one before I send it along to my oldest daughter; and,
  • River-Horse: A Voyage Across America – this one I snatched up fast because it is by William Least Heat-Moon, who wrote Blue Highways. I blogged about that book quite a while back. I didn’t know he had written more books!

In addition, my son picked out four other books (one was for his younger sisters). This bag full of books was ours for the paltry sum of $2.

So, even though it was close to 100 degrees out there, I’m glad we went.

Oh, and the watermelon was good, too! 🙂

Responses

  1. Hi, I saw your post about taking the NARM in Austin. My friends took it the same time/place you did, if you did indeed take it in Austin in August ’07. I took it this past Feb. I work as a midwife in Houston. Been at it since ’93. I would love to knit and am always trying to get others to help me learn but it seems like it’s hopeless. Any tips? My email is camay@sbcglobal.net


Leave a Reply

Categories

