Posted by: Diane | August 13, 2009

Getting ready for school

I’ve been spending a lot of time lately preparing for our school year. I’ve bought new books, found some new ideas to use, and stocked up on school supplies (with a little help from Granny Steffey).

I must say, I’m kinda eager to get started this year. I’m planning a bit more work and studying for the kids to do, but there will be some fun and creative stuff as well. And I plan to spend more time actually teaching than I have in recent years.

Today I organized our school shelves and gave the kids their notebooks, workbooks, and textbooks. Boy, was it dusty! The kids also personalized their binders that we will be using for “notebooking” their schoolwork this year. They really enjoyed that. The first page in Micah’s binder has a drawing of teeth and a tongue–so he can make his binder growl at you as he opens and closes it like a big mouth. Boys will be boys…

Leave a Reply

Categories

