Posted by: Diane | September 10, 2010

Can you tell I’ve been busy?

Honestly, I don’t know how to begin catching up on all of the writing I should have been doing the past few months, but I’ll make a start…
 
We had a great garden this summer–lots of cucmbers, okra, cream peas, field corn and watermelon.  In fact, we still have one final watermelon that is sitting on the kitchen floor waiting to be eaten.  My experimental plants for this season were mangel beets, amaranth, and broom corn.  All did very well and will likely become part of our garden to provide some feed and fodder for the critters we keep.  The goats absolutely LOVE the beets!

We have begun another year of homeschooling with some new curriculum.  I purchased a geography curriculum that runs on the computer that the kids are really enjoying.  I may expand it to include history and science next year.  We’re also trying out a new math curriculum called Life of Fred for Madlen and Micah.  It’s deceptively simple yet quite thorough.  After the first week, Micah presented me with the equation:

> Saxon Math

(That’s a picture of Fred by the way) This is a good sign!

We also have a new pet in the family — what else but a kitten!  Here he is at his most wicked:

He is what is called a Color Point Oriental Shorthair or what non-fanciers call a flame point siamese.  He is STILL un-named after about three months.  I’m not sure there is an (utterable) name that truly fits this cat, so we alternate between KittyCat, Meezer, Meow-Meow Kitty, Rotten Cat, and whatever else strikes our fancy and suits him at the moment.  If we all have to leave the house we put the two parakeets, Marco and Polo, in Micah’s room and shut the door.  (Yeah, there’s a trust issue there.)

Madlen and I have been volunteering at the Pittsburg Chamber of Commerce the past few weeks.  Actually I guess it’s paid work:  she’s getting a booth on the 18th at the ChickFest to sell her jewelry, and I get my Chamber membership paid.  If you follow the link to the website, you’ll see my work.  I help maintain it.  We also do whatever other little jobs they need done like hanging banners around town, handing out flyers, making phone calls, and what have you.

And, of course, there are always mamas and babies for me to take care of.

So all of this is what we’ve been doing.  There is much more I could write about what I’ve been thinking, but that will have to wait for another day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

