Posted by: Diane | February 1, 2011

February — in like a lion?

I was awakened this morning around 5:30 by the heavy rain falling on the roof.  There is a front coming through that promises some nasty, possibly icy and snowy weather over the next 24 hours or so.
Knowing that I would not be able to go back to sleep, I got up, warmed up a mug of leftover chai tea, grabbed my mp3 player and sat down in the living room to listen to some music.  I sat in the dark watching the fire flicker thru the cracks of the wood stove, listening to original piano improvisations on favorite hymns done by a friend of mine, Melanie Kirk.  Occasionally, I would hear some of the remaining sweet gum balls (“pointy balls” as they’re known in our family) from the tree at the end of the house hit the roof as the wind gusted.   Once or twice the cat brushed by my bare foot as he prowled the house.  It really wasn’t a bad way to start the day, ignoring the fact that it was so darn early.
This past Sunday was a pleasant day for me.  We went to church in the morning, came home, ate a delicious lunch and relaxed for an hour or so.  I had an appointment with a new client out in the boondocks at 4:30, so I loaded up for a nice Sunday afternoon drive.  The appointment went well and I decided that on the way back home I would investigate some points of interest.
I had just stopped at one of them, an old, two-story frame building in Kildare, when my cell phone rang.  It was my partner, Thalia, asking if I could go to a birth in Marshall, about 40 miles to the south.  She was headed to a reception in the opposite direction and didn’t think she could make it.  I turned around and headed south on the first major highway to Marshall.
This particular couple have 3 beautiful girls, and I have had the honor of attending the births of each of them.  In short order she had her fourth daughter, who was delivered by the father as I helped.  A quick, easy birth that was the stuff of every midwife’s dreams.  And I was done and home by my regular bedtime.  I couldn’t have asked for a nicer day!
I’ve been working on fixing up my kitchen a little by doing some painting.  These trailer house walls were looking pretty grungy and needed a lift.  The other thing was that I needed a nice looking, easy to clean backsplash over my counters.  The thin wall paper over sheetrock just doesn’t hold up to cleaning.  So I decided that I would stencil some tiles and a border onto the walls and then seal it with a water-based urethane coat. 
Here, I just tried out the stencil to see how it would look:

Yesterday, I knew I would have a full day to really work on it so I finished the tiles on that wall and went around the corner up to my kitchen sink window.  Now, my kitchen sink faces a corner and there is just no reaching across it to hold the stencil and pounce paint onto it in that corner.  So I did this:

Yes, that’s my cutting board over the sink.  No, it wasn’t comfortable or even easy.  Yes, I had a hard time moving after unfolding myself and getting down from the counter.  I am definitely getting older.
I’ll probably work on the border today, then I’ll have some more wall painting to do before I continue the stenciling.

Responses

  1. If you are still limber enough to climb up and contort in that manner, I don’t think you have anything to worry about! Looks very nice and the border will really set it off! Tell all I said HI! I have 6.5 inches of snow, and it is still coming down. Spoke to David and he had 2 inches of ice!


Leave a Reply

Categories

