Posted by: Diane | June 14, 2016

How I Created a Faux Flagstone Floor in My Kitchen

I wanted something pretty for my kitchen floor.  Something that would bring the feeling of natural colors and textures into my cooking space.  I would like to decorate my kitchen in shades of green, blue and brown that give it an earthy, woodsy, herb garden feel.  

Remember that I couldn’t purchase the Sherwin-Williams stain in small amounts, so I bought small cans of concrete DYE at Home Depot?  I figured they would mix and blend just fine.  Well, they don’t.  But it turned into a fantastic stroke of luck!  Here’s how it went:

The kitchen floor had been cleaned and etched along with the living room floor.  I had originally planned to use the golden brown color as a base in the kitchen and add the other colors to it for variation and accents.  However, I used every drop of the golden brown stain when I did the living room and I wasn’t about to pay for another huge jug when I knew I wouldn’t use it all.  Soooooo… I simply used the colors I had, including the rest of the Espresso H&C stain, and it was enough.

Here are the colors of concrete dye that I used.  The brand is Behr:

Dusk Mauve, Granite Green, and Old Adobe

c5440db5-1e49-4d56-9fde-d1d6bf358dfc_65  c5cb139d-19e0-49e5-88f0-9431cfb96126_65  934d0747-1a2d-4b27-a31f-72fbd18471b0_65

I took the stain/dyes and started experimenting along the wall, where I knew the floor would be covered by cabinets and appliances in the future.  I wanted to try some sponging, brushing and spraying to try to get different effects that looked like stone.  What seemed to work best was putting down a base color and then adding a little of a second and sometimes third color to add variation.  I also did a little mixing of colors to get different tones.  Once I felt comfortable with the application and the result, I started on the floor.

To achieve the look of grout between the stones, I took sealer and a paintbrush and painted the grout lines first.  I tried to make the stones random sizes and I tried to work in different directions to avoid any “pattern” to the layout.  I did find that it worked best when I went over the lines twice with the sealer, to make sure that they would “resist” the stain/dye when I painted the stones.  I chose to make the grout lines in varying widths, because flagstones don’t always fit perfectly together.  Sometimes the gaps between stones are wider or narrower.  Sometimes there is a notch in a stone that gets filled with grout.  And sometimes, when there is a really wide gap between stones, a small piece of stone is used to fill the gap.

Grout

After all of the grout lines had been painted twice, I was ready to paint my stones.  Again, I worked in a random pattern and tried to avoid stones of the exact same color being right next to each other.  I discovered, to my satisfaction, that if I used a sponge to put down a little of the concrete DYE, when I lightly applied the STAIN on top, it wouldn’t completely cover the dye!  I think this little hitch made some of the nicest looking stones.

I chose to use the greenish concrete dye as an accent color.  I used it to paint many of the smaller stone pieces and sponged it around the edges of some of the larger stones to add texture.  I also used the mauve dye in this fashion.  All of the rest of the stones were painted with some combination of the dark brown stain, the adobe colored dye, and the accent colors.  With just four colors I was able to get enough variation without it looking hodgepodge.

I also learned that it was best to wipe the dye/stain off of the sealed “grout” lines as soon as possible after completing a stone.  Otherwise it was harder to remove.

I think I spent about three or four days doing the kitchen floor.  Once all of the stones were dry, I went over the entire floor with two or three coats of the sealer using a low-nap roller.  You can sort of see how the sealer makes the colors “pop” a little more.

Voila!  My faux flagstone kitchen floor!

stonesdone

Four months after completing this project, I am happy to report that I still love my floor.  I have had no problems with any color lifting, chipping or anything else, other than it needing to be swept and damp mopped regularly!

Responses

  1. Looks great Diane!!

    • Thanks! I’m pretty amazed that it turned out so well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

